top of page
Search

Shooter And Spotter Communication

While this is a very simple topic, apparently, some people have very strong opinions about using the term click when it comes to long range shooting and making an adjustment on your scope. I was having a conversation on a forum about what a click is, and what it means. At least one guy lost his marbles and said that his spotter better not use the term “click”. He wants his spotter to tell him to dial using the "correct" angular measurement. Regardless of moa or mils, one click is one click of the scope. It's ether .1 mil or 1/4 moa.


As a spotter, my job is to give you correct and accurate information to dial on the scope as quickly as possible. (especially if it's timed)

Obviously, if my shooter is taking his first shot, I'll tell him to dial 11.5 mils or 40.25 moa. However, when making a correction, I can say "up three quarter moa" (but now you have to think about math and 3/4). A slightly little faster and shorter way is to say "up 3 clicks". I want you to be focused on the target and ready to shoot, not doing math and talking. If you're talking, your diaphragm is moving. That means your reticle is moving and you are not ready. Remember; always be ready. Ultimately, it's between the shooter and spotter to develop a "language" that's clear to them. I personally give the information in such a way that on the first shot or when changing targets or distance, I'll tell you your hold in full. I'll give the correction in clicks if it’s s a minor correction ( .1 - .4 mils). If you need a major correction, (1 full mil or more), I'll verify that we are both on the correct target and give you the full correction. It goes something like this:


Spotter: 1100 yards, white plate, two trees on the left, one tree on the right.


Shooter: On target.


Spotter: Up 10 mils, hold 1.3 right, check parallax


Shooter: *BANG


Spotter: (correction) Hit. up 2 clicks for center send it.


Shooter: *BANG


Spotter: Hit! Center.


How detailed you want to be is up to the shooter and spotter. My philosophy is, always be ready. I don't need the whole "spotter ready, shooter ready, on target, ready, shooting" type of dialect.

If I'm spotting for you, I'll give you a correction. However, if you see your impact and know your correction, dial or hold the difference and send it. Some people like all the extra talk; maybe they like how it sounds and are having fun with it. That's ok too, as long as you're not being timed.


Being a little more detailed is probably better. I just choose to be more simple. Being more detailed lets the spotter know you are dialing the correct information. It's also a good idea to call your shots, or at least call the shots you pulled, so your spotter knows and doesn't give you a wrong correction. Here's a more detailed communication.


Spotter: 1400 yards, orange plate in front of small hill, one tree on the right


Shooter: On target


Spotter: Up 15.9 Mils, hold right 1.9, check parallax


Shooter: 15.9, holding right 1.9


Spotter: Cancel wind, hold 1.7


Shooter: Holding 1.7 *(BANG)


Shooter: Pulled left


Spoter: Same hold


Shooter: *Bang


Spotter: HIT!


Getting the correct information to your shooter quickly is valuable. Once the shooter has the information, it's important to make the shot before the wind changes. That's why I prefer short and to the point calls. I will say that I typically shoot with people less experienced than myself, and using the term “click” they understand right away. The term click is not a professional term and has no official meaning in long range shooting. So when talking, knowing the other person is knowledgeable, this is not a term I would use as it’s not professional.


The Overwatch




41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page