top of page
Search

Chronograph

Once we have selected a bullet using factory or reloaded ammo, it's time to start collecting some data. We covered this in the Data Collection blog. We are going to begin our ladder testing and load development, but in order to do this, we need one key piece of equipment: a chronograph.


There are several different types of chronographs in all different price ranges. I've seen chronograph from about $79 up into the $600 range. I know that it can be hard to justify spending a lot of money on a chronograph, especially since you already invested money into a rifle, scope and rings. Just keep in mind this is a key component and very important to what we're doing. In all of my time shooting, this is where I have probably wasted the most time and money, simply because of a lack of a quality chronograph. This is such an important piece of equipment. I recommend strongly that you save your money and buy the best that you can.


Where I failed was going with an inexpensive chronograph. This cost me so much money and time because I would say at least a quarter of the time, I was not getting readings shooting through the chronograph. Other times, the chronograph was reading inconsistently, and I knew that there was no way my reloads were that bad. The worst part was, when I made a mistake and shot the chronograph. On the third time, it was done. So what did I do? I had to buy a second chronograph. So, I went and bought the same one. The chronograph that I purchased was about a $110. This being the second one, I had then spent about $220. This does not include shipping or taxes. As dumb as this sounds, I bet you can guess exactly what happened to this one. That's right, eventually I ended up shooting it. Extremely frustrated and feeling very dumb, I went ahead and bought a good chronograph. I ended up spending twice the amount of money that I should have when I should have just bought a good one the first time.


Chrony F1 Chronograph


This is the first chronograph that I purchased (the one I shot). The F1 chronograph is optional for pistols, in my experience. For around $110, it's also pretty good to get a general idea of your bullet's speed for hunting or AR-type firearms. However, for long range precision, it just does not work well; at least not for me. I have had readings all over the place. One shot would read 2350 fps, and the next 2600 fps. Most of the time, these were incorrect. With the inconsistencies, I wasted time, powder, bullets, primers, barrel life and, most of all, money. And if that wasn't bad enough, I looked like a complete dummy when I shot it. Having to walk out down range to set it up isn't fun, either. If it's off, you have to walk back out to try to fix it. It can be frustrating for the other people at the range also, waiting for you while you fumble around setting it up.


MagnitoSpeed Sporter


So, I learned my lesson (or did I?) and went ahead and bought a quality chronograph; The MagnitoSpeed Sporter. They run about $179.00. These things are very good and I am very happy with it. The Sporter is attached to the barrel, so you don't have to go down range to set it up. It's extremely accurate and easy to use. It will display your standard deviation and your extreme spread, as well as your velocity for your string of shots. My only issue is that I run a suppressor, and on my big bores I have a big muzzle brake. Unfortunately, the MagnitoSpeed Sporter does not work with suppressors or large muzzle brakes. So, what I should have done was saved up and got the MagnitoSpeed V3. With the Sporter, I have to measure the velocity and bullet drop without the suppressor and compare it to when the suppressor is on the gun. Typically, I am between 5 - 7 fps with the suppressor on. My extreme spread is typically around 5 - 15 fps. Theoretically, the difference with a suppressor on would kind of get lost in the standard deviation and extreme spread, but at extreme long ranges it is measurable.


Lab Radar


For about $600, you can get what I can only assume is top of the line. It's actually a doppler radar system. I have no experience with one, but the reviews are mostly outstanding. The biggest negative that I've seen is cost. But, if you want the best, you gotta pay to play. If you're new to long range shooting or on a budget, I definitely recommend the MagnetoSpeed. Either the Sporter or V3 are super easy to use, and with the MagnetoSpeed Sporter being less than $200, it's not a bad price for a smaller budget.


The Overwatch

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page